skip to primary navigationskip to content

EPSRC Manufacturing the Future Conference

17-18 September 2015, Cambridge UK

Studying at Cambridge


Conference Proceedings

Thank you to the large number of government, industrial and academic speakers. Please see below the links to a number of the presentations, along with videos taken as part of the UK Manufacturing Review 2015-16.

Opening Address, Rt Hon Sajid Javid MP, Secretary of Stare for Business, Innovation and Skills

National Priorities and Landscape

Professor Philip Nelson, Chief Executive, EPSRC

Dr Zoë Webster, Head of High Value Manufacturing, Innovate UK 

Industrial Innovation:Processes and Technologies

Professor Nick Weston, General Manager, Renishaw

Industrial Innovation: Manufacturing Systems

Richard Peart, Head of Stack Manufacturing Development, Intelligent Energy

Industrial Innovation: Operations and Networks

Steve Hope, General Manager, Environmental Affairs and Corporate Citizenship Toyota Europe

Professor Andy Carter, Chief Technology Officer, Oclaro

Manufacturing and External Research at Dyson

Simon Locke, Head of Manufacturing Engineering

Industrial Innovation: Operations and Networks

Dr Clive Badman OBE, VP Pre Competitive Activities, GSK

HVM Catapults

Dr Michael Ward, Technical Director, Advanced Forming Research Centre

Professor Peter Chivers, Chief Executive, National Composites Centre

Catapult Fellow Presentations

Professor Brad Wynne, Culham Chair in Materials Technology

Andrew Longstaff, Principal Enterprise Fellow

EPSRC Manufacturing Research Activities

Advanced Metrology: Professor Jane Jiang

Food: Professor Tim Foster

Through-life Engineering Services: Professor Rajkumar Roy

Emergent Macromolecular Therapies: Professor Nigel Tichener-Hooker

Photonics: Professor Sir David Payne

Laser-based Production Processes: Professor Duncan Hand

Regenerative Medicine: Professor Nick Medcalf

Knowledge Driven Configurable Manufacturing: Professor Robert Harrison

Designing alloys for resource efficiency (DARE), Professor Iain Todd

Evolvable Assembly Systems: Professor Svetan Ratchev

Miniature, flexible and reconfigurable manufacturing system for 3D micro-products: Professor Xichun Luo

EPSRC Manufacturing Fellows

Liberating new Business Models for Cell- and Tissue-Based Therapeutics
Professor Nick Medcalf, Director of the EPSRC Centre for Innovative Manufacturing in Regenerative Medicine, Loughborough University

Using Ultrasound to Transform Pharmaceutical Crystallization
Chris Price, Chemical and Process Engineering, University of Strathclyde

Industry 4.0

Alan Norbury, Central Technology Officer, Siemens PLC